Freedom!

Five Sentence Fiction – Freedom

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word.

When I was young, I said what I wanted and did what I wanted, no matter who I hurt or what the consequences for my actions were, because I thought I was a free man, and freedom to me meant living to please myself. I was very prideful and arrogant in my freedom, and I thought I was in control of everything that happened in my life, until the night my girlfriend dumped me for another man, and this rage overcame me, causing me to lose all control, and I strangled her to death.

I was given a life sentence for second degree murder, and suddenly, all the freedom I’d once enjoyed was gone, and I was stuck behind bars, at the mercy of others, forced to do the will of others, regardless of whether they were good or bad. Then, about five years into my sentence, my cellmate, Vinnie, invited me to a jailhouse “church” service, and as nutty as this sounds, I met Jesus, and I was born again, to a new life. Now, since I met Jesus, I’ve come to understand that when I was living to please myself, I was a slave to sin, and that  I had to lose my “freedom” before I received my freedom, and even though I will remain behind bars until the day I die, for the first time in my life, I am free.

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

8 responses to “Freedom!

  1. Just as BEAUTY is in the eyes of the BEHOLDER, such is the case with FREEDOM. What is FREEDOM to one is a PRISON to someone else.
    WELL DONE. Have a GREAT WEEKEND with your family !!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...