What is Sin?

Every man is guilty of all the good he didn’t do. 
Voltaire 

 

Image Credit: policemag.com

Image Credit:
policemag.com

“I was there the whole time, watching and listening, terrified to breathe or speak or do anything, in case they saw me. You can understand that, can’t you?” Evan pleaded, as tears fell from his eyes. 

“So why didn’t you come to us after they were gone? Why didn’t you help her, when they left?” Officer Perillo asked, angrily. “If you had just called an ambulance when they left, she might have lived. Do you realize you’re just as guilty as they are, for not coming forth sooner, and trying to cover your own butt?” 

“But, I didn’t help them. They didn’t know I was there, otherwise, they would have tortured and killed me, too. In fact, Amber was the only one who knew I was there, but she never gave me away, despite the way they tortured her.” 

Officer Perillo replied, “We’re questioning everybody that was involved, but Evan, even if you didn’t actively participate in her rape, torture and  murder, you’re still just as guilty as they were.” 

“No sir,” Evan replied as his tears fell on the table, creating a small salty puddle. “I’m not guilty. I loved Amber. She was so kind and sweet. She always treated me with love and respect. She defended me, when everybody else bullied me and picked on me. And you’re right. I didn’t help her and I didn’t deserve a friend like her.  

“I’m nothing but a coward, and I was so afraid about what might happen to me, that I just hid in that closet, watching through the keyhole, and listening while they abused her. I wish I could change it all, but the truth is, I’d probably still be to scared to do anything to help her,” Evan said despondently. 

“Well, Evan, there’s nothing you can do now, to save Amber, but there’s still something you can do, now,” Officer Perillo spoke soothingly now, touching Evan’s arm gently and looking him in the eye, “if you’re willing, but, you know what it will require, don’t you?”  

Evan shook his head, as Perillo continued, “It means that you’re going to have to be brave, and identify each one of Amber’s murderers. Then, you’ll have to testify against them in court, so that everyone who took your friend’s life, will pay for what they did. 

“In fact, if you don’t do this now, you will be guilty, like Voltaire, the French philosopher, who stood for the separation of church and state, described in this quote, ‘Every man is guilty of all the good he didn’t do.'” 

Evan’s tears fell harder as he replied, “Amber always used to quote from the bible, and one of her favorite quotes was just like that, Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.’ You’re right, I already sinned when I didn’t help Amber, but I won’t commit that sin again. I’ll testify.”

 This post was written for the Light and Shade Challenge for 10/29/2014. Click the link to see what others have written, or to write your post for it.

One response to “What is Sin?

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

