A New Beginning

She stealthily searched the crowd, assuring herself that no one there knew her. To Carla, the crowd of revelers, the streamers and the ornamentation were garish. She hated sneaking, but there was no other way. Jack almost killed her this last time, leaving her desperate to escape.

Surreptitiously, she crept down the alley, briefly scanning the crowd again, before slipping into the last door on the left. After a brief money exchange, she returned to the outside, with a smile on her face, a new identity and a passport. She was now ready to begin life anew as Tamara Daniels.

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

This story is a follow-up to Worth the Fight, which I wrote last night for 100 Word Song.

20 responses to “A New Beginning

  1. Loved the suspense you built up so well Cheryl and that she succeeded in getting a new passport -hope she has a better life in future:-)

  2. Dear Cheryl,

    You built the tension well. I hope she disguised herself as. 😉 This puts me in mind of Julia Roberts in Sleeping with the Enemy.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Full of secrecy and hope, fascinating. I must admit I tripped over the alliteration a bit at the beginning (stealthily, searching, ensuring…) but then, I’m not a fan of such things so I may be over-sensitive to it. And I think you mean assuring not ensuring.

    • Thanks elmowrites. I think you’re right. I should have used assuring for the way I worded it… or ensuring that no one was watching… When I put herself in there, it changed the word and the meaning. Thanks so much for pointing that out. I appreciate constructive criticism.

      Blessings,
      Cheryl

  4. You did a great job describing the scene and the action of her sneaking away. I’m glad she got the pass into a better life. Good for her! And nicely done!

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...