Child of God

My Beloved Children of God Cheryl A. Showers

My Beloved Children of God
Cheryl A. Showers

I’m always late

I’m always behind

Behind the deadline

Behind the schedule

Schedule torments

Schedule confines

Confines me in a box

Confines me in shackles

Shackles my spirit

Shackles creativity

Creativity needs space

Creativity needs time

Time to meditate

Time to search my soul

Soul needs room to stretch

Soul needs room to breathe

Breathe in the gift of life

Breathe in breath from heaven

Heaven on earth

Heaven has no limits

Limits and boundaries

Limits are removed

Removed from my mind

Removed so I’m free

Free to do, think and feel

Free just to be

Be all that I can

Be who I was created

Created to love

Created to bring glory to God

God, the Love of my life

God, who redeems

Redeems from death, hell and the grave

Redeems from shame, fear and despair

Despair from rejection

Despair from failure

Failure to please others

Failure to be loved

Loved just as I am

Loved just because

Because I am God’s child

Because He is Love

Love for the lonely

Love for the battered and broken

Broken and forsaken

Brokenhearted and lost

Lost and confused

Lost and abused

Abused

Confused

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

Image Credit: OctPowriMo

Image Credit:
OctPowriMo

This was written for Day 20 of OctPoWriMo. To read what others have written, please click the link.

2 responses to “Child of God

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

