In the Quiet

In the quiet, I wait for His voice.
Sometimes, I miss His still small voice.
For the noise all around wages war
With my spirit,
Pulling me,
Tugging me,
Distracting me.

I try to quiet myself and wait,
But then, the thoughts rush in,
Drowning out the silence with foolishness.
How much longer should I wait?
How much time has passed?
I’m hungry.
I’m thirsty.

O God, I long to hear your voice,
But the world outside beckons me!
The phone rings loudly, jarring me.
Should I answer it?
It might be important.
I wonder who it is?
I’m distracted again.

Be still, my soul and listen.
Be still before the Lord,
And wait patiently for Him.
O my soul, be still and wait quietly for Him,
For God alone is my hope,
And my salvation.
His words are better than life!

O Lord, I have quieted my soul.
Like a child that has been weaned,
No longer cries for his mother’s milk,
So I have quieted my soul.
Content to wait patiently for You to speak.
Lord, You are my portion,
And my soul waits peacefully for You!

This is what the Sovereign Lord,
The Holy One of Israel,
Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, says,
“Come unto Me, all who are weary,
And I will  give you rest…
Only in returning to Me
And  resting in Me, will you be saved.”

The Lord has said,
“Quietness and trust shall be your strength.
Only, be still, and know
That I am God,
Fear not, for I am with you
I, Myself, will fight for you
You need only be silent.”

Lord, teach me to be still,
And quiet my anxious thoughts.
Help me to trust in You,
With all my heart,
With all my soul,
With all my mind,
And with all my strength.

Show me Your ways, Lord,
Just as You showed Moses!
And just as David, with all of his flaws,
Was a man after Your own heart,
Help me, to be a woman after Your heart!
Just as You calmed Elijah’s fears,
Calm mine as well, Lord.

“Fear not, child, for I am with you.
I have ransomed you
And called you by name
You are Mine.
When you walk through deep waters,
I will be with you.
You are Mine.

“When you walk through
Rivers of difficulty,
You will not drown.
When you walk through the fire
Of oppression,
You will not be burned,
Nor will the flames consume you.

“For I am the Lord, your God,
The Holy One of Israel.
I am the Lord, your Healer.
I am the King of Glory.
I am your Protector.
I am the Alpha and the Omega,
The Beginning and the End.

“I am your Creator.
You were created for My purpose.
Therefore, fear not!
Did I not create you for such a time as this?
Did I not say that I will be with you?
Fear not!
Will I not equip you to do what I’ve called you to?

“This is My command,
Love your enemies.
Do good to those who hate you.
Bless those who curse you.
Pray for those who hurt you.
Also love your brothers as yourself,
For love covers a multitude of sins.”

O Lord, help me to love as You love!
Give me a spirit that is willing
To love my enemies,
And do good to those who hate me.
Help me to bless those who curse me,
And to pray for those who hurt me.
Lord, fill me with Your love for mankind!

“I’ve heard your cries, Daughter,
And so it shall be,
Only, peace, be still.
I am with you, Beloved Daughter.
But now is the time for silence,
While you meditate on My words.
Be quiet now, and rest.”

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

 


Image Credit: OctPowriMo

Image Credit:
OctPowriMo

This was written for Day 7 of OctPoWriMo. To read what others have written, please click the link.


Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

