Daddy’s Little Princess

There is no warning rattle at the door
No clap of thunder to alert her
No sound of footsteps
Nothing to prepare her
Until she sees a thin ribbon of light
As her bedroom door swings open
And Daddy comes in creeping

There is no joyful flutter in her heart
No squeal of anticipation
No childish laughter
No reason for joy
For there is no bedtime story
He hasn’t come just to tuck her in
Daddy needs to be “loved”

There’s something broke inside of her
No childish dreams
Of princesses and ponies
Nothing left to hope for
Such heaviness she carries
Such sickness when he says,
“You’re Daddy’s little princess.”

There is no escape again tonight
And like a tiny bird in a cage
She waits upon her perch
Her heart is rapidly pounding
She silently prays to her God,
“Lorid, if I had the wings of a dove,
I would fly far, far away.”

There are so many different signs she leaves
But no one seems to care
The silent tears she cries inside
The rage that fills her soul
She yearns for love
And yet feels so unworthy
Too much dirt inside, her innocence is lost

There will come a day when she’ll break free
No more guilt and no more blame
Will bind her in their chains
She’ll know the truth and be set free
Understand the fault was his, not hers
God will free her from the fear and shame
Of being “Daddy’s little princess.”

But till that great day comes,
Please pray with me
For her and every little girl
Who spend each night in fear and dread
Not scared of any boogey-man
No this girl and others like her
Fear being “Daddy’s little princess.”

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers


  • Submissions must be 750 words or fewer.

  • Submissions must be fiction or poetry.
  • You must include the following sentence as the FIRST line in your submission: “There is no warning rattle at the door.
  • You must also include a reference to the media prompt.

Please note that this post was written in response to the Speakeasy #164 challenge. When I read what the first sentence was to be, and I saw the picture of the bird on a perch with a heart, I had no idea where I was going until I got there. It seems that first sentence stirred up memories and feelings from long ago… and my plea for you to join me in prayer was not just an attempt to make the words fit. It was a heartfelt plea for prayers for the little girl in the story, for me, and for every other little girl who has suffered at the hands of their loved ones…

 

17 responses to “Daddy’s Little Princess

  1. Wow! Very heartfelt. I understand now and you’re one of the reasons I wrote Her Escape. It’s often that women who are abused as children by their father often marry into abusive relationships as adults. Excellent poem!

    “…She’ll know the truth and be set free
    Understand the fault was his…”

    🙂 Take care, Cheryl.

    • Thank you Kathy. I grew up feeling dirty and different. I thought I was the only one, but when I finally dealt with the pain of my past, I was shocked at the number of people who came to me, sharing similar stories.

      As long as the wounded remain silent, the perpetrator continues to have power over them, but when they open up and share the truth, their abuser loses his power over them. Thank you for reading, commenting and caring.

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

  2. The sad fate of the “little princesses” of the world. Very well written, you’ve caught that fear and shame, the lost dreams and disillusionment … the loneliness and desperation … heart breaking indeed.

  3. My heart breaks for you. What a paralyzing experience. You’ve communicated that fear and shame so well…breaking silence.

    • Thank you for your compassion, Meg. It’s been many years ago, but my heart breaks for every little girl that endures such abuse. That’s why I talk about it still.

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

