Broken

Edna awakened to find herself lying on her stomach in the living room. Pain seared through the lower right side of her groin area. “What in the world?” Though she was alone, she spoke out loud, trying to remember what happened.

“I need to call somebody.” She knew she was hurt, but she did not yet know how bad it was, until she tried to move. Instantly, a sharp dagger-like pain shot through her groin all the way down to her knee, causing her to shriek in agony.

Terror immediately followed the pain, as tears spilled out of her eyes. “O God,” Edna frantically prayed, “Please, send someone to help me. Don’t let me die,” she wept. “Help me, Lord – I’m so afraid. Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed; Save me and I shall be saved, for You are my praise. Lord, deliver me.

“I need to stay calm. What time is it, anyway?” Edna looked across the room, where the clock was, but she couldn’t see it. “My glasses must have fallen off when I fell.” Looking around, she spied her glasses within hand’s reach. “Thank You, Jesus! Thank You so much,” she said in appreciation, as she grabbed her glasses and placed them back on her face where they belonged. She looked at the clock again. “It’s 10:15 a.m. Susan won’t be here until noon. O Lord, she won’t let me hear the end of this. She’ll insist I go to a nursing home now.”

Image Credit: PRESSTV

Image Credit:
PRESSTV

The tears began to flow again, and as Edna tried to shift her weight to find a more comfortable position, the constant searing, throbbing discomfort gave way to a more severe agonizing pain that seemed to rip through her very being. Again, she screamed and blacked out for several minutes because of the intensity of the pain.

When she came to again, Edna found her face in a puddle of drool on the hardwood floor. “Oh Frank,” she sobbed. “I miss you so much. Honey, if you only knew how much I need you now, surely you would come down from heaven to help me! But you can’t do that, can you? And Sweetie, as much as I love you, I’m just not ready to go there yet.

“Look at me – I’m lying here drooling on our beautiful floor. Do you remember how hard we worked to refinish it? We sanded and stained it back in the days when there was no machinery to make the job easier for us – and then the varnishing! Do you remember when I told you that this floor would be the death of me? I had no idea when I said those words, just how true they would be! Please, Lord, send someone to rescue me soon.”

Again, sharp pain tore through her so intensely that Edna lost consciousness. Later, she woke to the sound of her daughter screaming as she ran to her side, “Mom!”

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

WoENewButton-e1363040457539 This post was written in response to a writing prompt on Write on Edge:

Writing Prompt: 2014, Week 20

I chose to write using the photo prompt.

4 responses to “Broken

  1. Very, very good. You expressed the fear that many Elderly have of being institutionalized needlessly. We need to care for the Elderly around us, even if it’s inconvienent to our schedules to stop in and check on them…WE NEED to do it! Thank you, and I hope that everyone who reads this checks in on someone near them, even if they aren’t your family! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your comments. This is so close to my heart. I worked in a skilled nursing facility as a secretary, and I came to understand the fears of the elderly. When my mother was faced with going in a nursing home, she fought it tooth and nail, though she refused to come home and live with me. In the end, she was unable to even assist with her transfers, and there was no longer any choice, but it still hurt. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

  2. What a frightening and realistic situation. I’m somewhat handicapped and have some major health issues, and I worry more about such things as you wrote about here happening to me as I enter my middle years. I’m also a part-time caregiver. This is a reality for our elders.
    Thank you kindly for visiting The Netherworld and Undead in the Netherworld and commenting on one of our story lines. We really appreciate it!

    • Opalzushaquon, I used to work with the elderly, and this is a topic that is very close to my heart. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I really appreciate it!

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

