Have All My Clocks Stopped?

Melting Clocks funkwood

Melting Clocks
funkwood

My clocks haven’t stopped.
Indeed, they’re moving faster than ever.
With the passing of each year,
They’re wound up tighter,
And time spins rapidly out of control.
And though my heart longs for time to slow down,
I pray it doesn’t stop!

 

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

33 responses to “Have All My Clocks Stopped?

    • Yes, that’s how I’ve been feeling, and my fear of the rapidly spinning time is only eclipsed by my fear of time stopping altogether!

      Blessings,
      Cheryl

  1. A great way to respond to the prompt. Time does seem to speed up the longer those clocks are ticking, no? Thanks for linking up, Cheryl!

    • You’re absolutely right Christine. The older we get, the faster time flies by us. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

  2. The curse of the living… each year feels like it moves faster than the year before… and we crave for time to slow down… but there is only one way to make that happen and it means time would stop for us entirely.

  3. Lovely sentiment; we get ever busier and time passes ever faster as a result – a timely reminder to slow down, take note and live each day to the full.

    • Amen. I wonder how different our lives would be if we all decided to live each day as though it were our last? I suspect that some would live foolishly, but there would hopefully be others, who would make the most of each day. This prompt has caused me to pause, if only for a short time, and ponder these things. Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Ellie. It always blesses me to hear from others and learn their thoughts.

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

  4. Time passing is so proportional to our increasing number of years. And we never know when our time is up causing me to constantly reflect on living in the moment.

    • Amen Gina, me too. I don’t want it to stop, I just wish it would slow down, because it’s going much to fast, and I don’t want it to run out. 🙂

      Thank you for reading and for such a deep and understanding comment. You blessed me.

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

  5. yes, our lives (my life right now) doesn’t slow down but I often think, “it is because you were blessed with the babies you wanted so badly” and then I take a deep breath and go on to the next task. My life would be slower, quieter without the twins, but then would it be a life at all?

    nice take on the prompt, grateful message.

    • You are definitely blessed to have the babies you prayed for. I’m the grandmother of 3 1/2 year old twins (boy and girl), and I am so blessed too. And you’re right though you would be living, life wouldn’t be near as much fun without your little ones. Children truly are a blessing from God, but once you have them, time begins spinning by completely out of control.

  6. Time is speeding by more and more the older I get. The other day, I caught myself saying something was only five years away–that used to be an eternity.

  7. I simply love the picture you’ve chosen to go with the prompt! So powerful. And sigh, time hasn’t stopped for anything, has it? I would love for it to freeze certain moments though. Enjoyed this 🙂

    • Thank you Shailajav. And thanks so much for reading and commenting. I think this prompt makes us all think about time and the brevity of life.

      Blessings,
      Cheryl

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

