Give Me a Reason to Love You

Greta had grown sick and tired of waiting for him. For more than a decade, she had put her life on hold, hoping he would finally settle down, but it was all for naught. He didn’t love her. He’d just been stringing her along, pacifying her with distant promises of “someday”…

“When I’ve saved enough money to support a family, we’ll get married… Hon, just wait awhile, until I can afford to give you the ring you deserve… Listen, Doll, in just two more years I’ll be promoted to CEO, and then we’ll be able to afford to buy us the home of our dreams…” She had held on on to the hope that one day they would be married and have a family, even though the days turned into weeks, the weeks turned into months, and the months turned into years. Finally, after nearly a decade, the reality of her situation dawned on her. Tony wasn’t going to marry her now or ever.

In fact, he had never intended to marry her, and now, after all these years, Greta realized that Tony was not the man she wanted to settle down with and raise a family. She sighed as she drank in the beauty of the garden. It was so serene out here, amid the flowers and the trees.

Waiting for Tony’s arrival, Greta smiled as her gaze fell upon two young hares, rump to rump like dueling pistols, crouched by the gate. “Thank You, Lord, for the beauty of Your creation,” she whispered softly, as she continued to await Tony’s arrival. “Father, please give me the right words to break things off with Tony, so I can move on and live the life You’ve called me to. Prepare his heart, Lord, so that he won’t be unduly hurt.”

Finally, after waiting for nearly an hour, Tony arrived, more than forty minutes later than he’d promised to be there. “Greta, baby,” Tony said, reaching out to hold her and kiss her, as she quickly turned her cheek to him, then pulled away. “Aw Babe,” he said, “you’re not mad at me, are you? I got here as soon as I could.”

Stepping away from him, Greta walked to the park bench and sat down, patting the seat beside her and beckoning Tony to come. Grinning as he sat beside her, Tony asked, “What’s up, Babe?”

Smiling gently, Greta responded, “Tony, do you know we’ve been together for more than ten years?”

A look of stunned surprise crossed his face, “Oh man! I’m sorry Greta — did I forget an anniversary?”

Laughing, she shook her head, as she patted his arm. “No, Tony, you didn’t miss an anniversary. I was just making a statement.” As he sighed in relief, she smiled sweetly and continued, “Do you know that I’ve been with you since I was just a seventeen year old girl?” Shaking her head, Greta resumed, “I had such dreams for us, and now, as I look back, I see how foolish I was.”

Tony’s face showed a mixture of bewilderment and sadness. “I’m not sure I like where this is going,” he stated. “Greta, I never thought you were foolish.”

“No, you didn’t, but I understand now, how unrealistic I was. Tony, you and I have different dreams. You have dreams of money and power, but I have dreams of marriage and children. I have dreams of serving God and having grandchildren when I’m old.”

“Look Babe, I know you want to get married, but it’s just not the right time yet.”

“Tony — stop! I do want to get married, but not to you, and I do want to have children, but not your children. Let’s face it, Tony. You never had any intentions of marrying me, and it’s okay, because I can see now what a mistake that would have been. It’s time we go our separate ways. I know you’ve had other women in your life, and that’s fine, because I’ve met a man who shares my dreams.”

Tony looked at her in stunned disbelief, before responding, “Wait a minute! Are you breaking up with me?

“Well, Tony,” Greta replied as she stood to leave, “Give me a reason to love you!” 

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

Image Credit: SPEAKEASY # 156

Image Credit:
SPEAKEASY # 156

17 responses to “Give Me a Reason to Love You

  1. Such a familiar story of so many lives but so glad that Greta saw where she was heading-or rather where her ;life was not heading and decided to call it off!It requires great courage to be able to break away from a lifetime of “habit”-even if it is not love :-)Poor Tony -he never saw that coming,eh?Beautiful story Cheryl-loved it:-)

  2. Good for her! I love how clear it was that she was at peace with her decision long before he arrived. Wonderful take on the prompts, Cheryl! 🙂

  3. Yes! It takes great strength to see beyond what’s comfortable and known and move into a place where you can grow and nurture. I hope he doesn’t give her a reason, after all. Well done!

  4. It is always a harsh reality when one realizes they must take the difficult step to save what is left of their dreams and their self respect and chance for true fulfillment in life. A very sensitive piece and while not overly soppy, it cuts to the quick. Nicely done.

  5. I like a strong woman who can objectively assess her dreams and current situation- then act on it if they aren’t lining up. I’m glad she had the strength to carry through with her breaking off the relationship. It really wasn’t fair for Tony to string her along… surely he knew she may not wait forever!

    • Nah – Tony is much to arrogant and infatuated with himself to even imagine that she would want something more for herself. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Blessings,
      Cheryl

  6. Way to go Greta! Sometimes it’s hard to see the decisions we must make even when they are staring us in our face. It’s especially difficult when the decision involves someone we love- even if that someone isn’t right for us.

    A lovely story with a lovely message.

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

