Created for a Purpose

Image Credit: Steve Vines

Image Credit:
Steve Vines

Do you ever wonder why you’re here? Are you here for some purpose? Or is your life an accident or a terrible mistake?

I once believed I was a mistake. Yet, I also believed that God is the Creator of mankind, and He makes no mistakes. I often treated unjustly. Ridiculed both at school and at home, I was often harshly punished. I was filled with envy, anger, rebellion and deceit. A constant disappointment to my parents, a failure in school, and a social outcast, why would God purposely create someone like me?

Because I didn’t like myself, it was difficult for me to believe that God had a purpose for me. Sadly, I carried those feelings into adulthood. For though I believed that God loved the world, I found it difficult to believe that He loved me. After all, knowing every wicked thought and deed I had ever committed, how could Almighty God love anything about me? And how could He ever use me? Have you ever felt that way?

I continued to feel this way, as a young Christian woman in my twenties and early thirties, until one Saturday evening, when I was preparing to teach Sunday School the next day, and I read this scripture passage…

13 You  [God] made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 Thank You for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous — how well I know it. 15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. 16 You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in Your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. ~ Psalm 139:13-16 — NLT ~

Suddenly, though I’d read those words before, I now understood them. For God opened the eyes of my heart, and as I read this passage, tears formed in my eyes. Then, the Lord spoke to my heart, saying, “Beloved, it was I who formed you in your mother’s womb. I created every part of you, and I made no mistakes when I created you. Though your teeth were crooked, and others made fun of you, I gave you those teeth, and they were not ugly to Me. Though your spine is curved, and you had to endure the shame of wearing a back brace, your scoliosis was not a flaw in My design, it was part of My plan for your life.

Though you have suffered at the hands of those you loved most, you were never alone. For I was with you, protecting you from more harm than was absolutely necessary, and comforting you, when you lost all hope. I know every sin you’ve ever committed in your heart and in deed. I also know every sin that you will commit in the future, and it has not diminished My love for you. Do you still wonder why you were created? I’ll tell you why… You were created for My glory, and as you love Me and serve Me, your life will bring glory to Me…”

Beloved readers, please don’t let anyone or anything make you feel inferior, because the very same words the Lord spoke to my heart, can apply to you also. For in our weakness that His strength is made perfect, and every one of us has been fearfully and wonderfully made by the Creator for His glory.

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

Written for Yeah Write #156 Challenge

  • The badge you will need to add to your planned submission is over in the sidebar
  • This immediate past Sunday is the earliest your submission can be dated
  • Your post can be no longer than 600 words (mine is 588)
  • Personal essays or traditional blog anecdotes only
10 responses to “Created for a Purpose

  1. How beautiful this piece is! (visiting from yeah write, as well). Isn’t it amazing that just when we feel our lowest, we receive a subtle sign that pushes us to keep moving forward in a positive way? I’m happy that you were lifted by your message!

    • Thanks so much Jenbrunett. I too, am very grateful that God comforted and lifted me with His love. I’m also very glad that He continues to do so. Thank you for reading and commenting. It always blesses me when people take the time to comment on what they’ve read.

      God bless you,
      Cheryl

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

