Heal Me, O Lord, And I Shall Be Healed

Image Credit: versaday.com

Image Credit:
versaday.com

My mother had recently passed away, leaving me in the midst of deep depression, when the stomach pains hit, but the nausea was worse than the pain and vomiting, accompanied by diarrhea. I thought I was dying, and in the midst of my illness, I kept repeating one scripture over and over, trying to convince myself that I would survive this often fatal illness… 

Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed;
Save me, and I shall be saved,
For You are my praise.

(Jeremiah 17:14)

… and thanks to God’s mercy, I did indeed survive this horrendous brush with death.

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

100-Word-Challenge
Image Credit:
velvetverbosity.com
2 responses to “Heal Me, O Lord, And I Shall Be Healed

  1. I went through a similar struggle when my own mom died. I was 24 at the time and found her. She had already passed. I couldn’t eat or sleep. I had reoccurring nightmares and cried constantly. Eventually ended up losing a mega amount of weight and with a bleeding ulcer and severe depression. It was a rough time, but eventually God led me back to the land of the living and life went on. Blessings to you…and hugs.

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

