A Changed Woman

Image Credit: Janet Webb

Image Credit:
Janet Webb

Jill shuddered, remembering the looks on the jurors’ faces, when Jennifer pointed at her, stating, “I saw her standing there with a knife in one hand, sipping sangria with the other, while her husband laid there bleeding.”

Tried and found guilty, she was sentenced to life in prison. Yet now, fifteen years later, Jill was up for parole. “I don’t deserve your pardon,” she said sincerely, “just as I didn’t deserve God’s mercy, and yet, He forgave me anyway. Therefore, no matter what you decide, I will spend the rest of my life serving Christ.” She was a changed woman.

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers

This post was written for the following writing challenges:

Friday Fictioneers

100 Word Song

8 responses to “A Changed Woman

    • Thank you. I used to be a prison minister, and I pray that some lives were truly changed for the better. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

      Blessings,
      Cheryl

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

