Strength

Five Sentence Fiction – Strength

Feb 12, 2014 ~ Leave a Comment ~ Written by lillie

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word.

The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: STRENGTH
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image Credit: pendeltongazette.com

Image Credit:
pendeltongazette.com

It was the hardest thing she’d ever had to do, but for the good of everyone involved, it had to be done. The look of pain on his face when she turned him in to the police had nearly broken her resolve, but she drew in a deep breath and called on Christ to strengthen her.

“You’re my mother,” he cried in anguish, as they handcuffed him, “how could you betray me like this?”

As the tears flowed freely down her cheeks, she looked at her only son, whom she had always lavished her love on, and replied, “Son, though you don’t understand it now, I pray that one day you will realize that I did this for your own good, and that you will find it in your heart to forgive me. Though it breaks my heart to see you bound and imprisoned, it would hurt me far worse if you were to die and go to hell because someone killed you in a bad drug deal.”

© 2014
Cheryl A. Showers
7 responses to “Strength

    • Amen. It would take great strength to be forced to make that decision. As I was writing, I was wondering how many mothers have been faced with such a difficult choice to make. God bless you and thanks for reading and commenting.

      Love,
      Cheryl

    • Thank you Glynis, for not only taking the time to read my post, but for commenting as well. You really blessed me, and I pray that you have a blessed Valentine’s Day!

      Love in Christ,
      Cheryl

      • Why thank you for that blessing.

        I try to read as many as I can, and if I do read, I like to comment so the blogger know I read their words.

        It was my pleasure to read your story. Thank you for posting.

        I hope your Valentine’s Day is blessed as well Cheryl.

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

