Some Things Are Worth Fighting For

Picture It & Write  

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (provide a translation please :) ). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph will be reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr and added to the Picture it & Write gallery on Facebook and Pinterest.

Please continue to write however you’re inspired, but add a tag to the beginning of your post if there’s mature content in order to keep Picture it & Write an engaging event for all of our followers.

 

Image Credit: tightsqueez

Image Credit:
tightsqueez

I remembered an impassioned conversation I’d had with my grandfather, many decades ago. We were talking about the immorality and cruelty of war, and I was giving a very passionate argument against war, when he impatiently interrupted me, vehemently stating, “Cally, there will soon come a day, when you will discover that some things are worth fighting for. Indeed, you will also learn that some things are even worth dying for!”

I tried to maintain my self-righteous stance in our argument, but Grandfather would have none of it. “What we’re discussing is no game. This is not make-believe, and what I am telling you is not merely a hypothetical statement. I am prophesying to you, Child, and you must take heed to this. You are called by God, and the freedoms that you have enjoyed up to now, will one day be ripped away from you, and you will have to choose whom you will serve once and for all. Will you serve the Lord — even though it could mean dying a violent death, or will you serve the enemy of your soul?”

And now, as I gazed at the cloud of debris from the bomb blast, and saw the devastation all around me, I finally understood what Grandfather had meant so many years ago. Indeed, I had made my choice to serve the Lord many years prior to this terrible day, but now, as I looked at the death and destruction before me, I felt a righteous anger welling up inside of me. Many good people had died today at the hands of the enemy, and as I stood there with tears running down my face, I made my choice. 

“Father,” I cried loudly, “I am Yours, and You are indeed worth fighting for and even dying for! And from this day forth,” I vowed, “I will fight for You to rid the world of this enemy, who seeks to steal, kill and destroy Your people!”

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

4 responses to “Some Things Are Worth Fighting For

  1. I loved this saying, “[T]here will soon come a day, when you will discover that some things are worth fighting for. Indeed, you will also learn that some things are even worth dying for!” What power! Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write. 🙂

    – Ermisenda

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

