Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

by michelle w. on September 2, 2013

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The name Cheryl is of French origin.
The meaning o f Cheryl is “beloved, darling”.

Our Baby Namer ~

Cropped screenshot of Lana Turner from the tra...

Cropped screenshot of Lana Turner from the trailer for the film The Postman Always Rings Twice. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I got to know my birth father when I was 36 years old, and it was then that I learned that he chose my name when I was born. He named me Cheryl, after Lana Turner’s daughter, Cheryl, who, at the age of 14, stabbed her mother’s husband, (her stepfather, Johnny Stompanato), to death. Now, I have to tell you, I was a little (no — I was a WHOLE LOT) creeped out when he told me that.

The truth is, for most of my life, I hated my name. I always wanted a special name, a beautiful name, rather than plain old “Cheryl.” I don’t know why I hated my name, but I always did. My sister’s name was Teresa, and I always thought that was just such a beautiful name, just as she was and is. Her name just rolls off your lips.

Maybe it sounds silly to you, but I truly did hate my name as a child until almost seven years ago, when my daughter was pregnant with my first granddaughter. I’ll never forget the evening that changed. Not only did my hatred for my name change, but my feelings about myself, and my feelings toward the Lord also changed forever.

Have you ever heard the Lord speak to your heart? Now, I don’t know about you, but every time I’ve heard the Lord speak to me, it’s been a life-changing event, and this time was especially life-changing. 

English: Logo of the band Rejected Español: Lo...

English: Logo of the band Rejected Español: Logo de la banda Rejected (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For most of my life, I grew up feeling unloved and unlovable. Now, regardless of whether those feelings were true or not, when you feel unloved, that becomes your reality., and when you feel unlovable, it can leaves you feeling empty and hopeless. As a child, I felt as though I had to try and earn my parents’ love. Yet it seemed no matter how hard I tried, I always fell short, and instead of earning their love, I earned their wrath. I grew up yearning to be loved, while feeling unworthy of love.

Now, even though I came to know the Lord, and grew to love Him, I still found it difficult to believe that He could love me. Let’s fast forward many years, to the time when I was 45 years old, and my daughter was pregnant with her first child, a little girl. 

It was a day pretty much like any other day, and my daughter and I were in my car, on our way home, after a day of shopping for baby things. We had a great day together, though I can’t say that it was life-changing — not yet, anyway. As we were driving  home, we were talking about possible baby names.

As we were riding along, talking about baby names and enjoying one another’s company, we had no idea that the Lord was about to speak into my life. “Do you know what your name means?” I asked my daughter, as she nodded. Of course she did, because I had told her many times over the years. Her name, means “little Christ” or “follower of Christ”. 

“Do you know what my name means?” I asked her casually, unaware that this question and whole subject had been ordained by God before time began…

“No,” she responded. “What does it mean?”

Image Credit: Beloved -Free Desktop Wallpaper

Image Credit:
Beloved -Free Desktop Wallpaper

“It means ‘Beloved’,” I said, and as I spoke those words, the Lord began to speak to my heart, and I fell silent and listened to Him.

“Your name is ‘Beloved,'” I heard Him speak to my heart “Your mother and father didn’t name you, I did. You were My “Beloved” before the foundations of the world, and so I named you.

“When you used to cry in your room, saying, ‘Won’t someone please love me?’ I loved you. When other children made fun of you and rejected you, when your teachers and your parents put you down and rejected you, I loved you.

“When others said you were ugly, I saw your beauty, and I said, ‘You are My “Beloved”.’ I witnessed every sin you committed, and I hated those sins that drove you away from Me, for you were My ‘Beloved’ even when you were dead in your sins. Indeed, I loved you when you were on your way to hell.

“In fact, My “Beloved”, you did not choose Me, for I chose you, and I drew you to Me. You are My ‘Beloved!'”

The Lord has appeared of old to me, saying:
“Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love;
Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you.

~ Jeremiah 31:3 — NKJV ~

That was a night that changed my life. It was the night that I learned that I’ve always been loved. Just think, every time I felt alone and unloved, the Creator of the Universe was with me, loving me, and He still loves me!

Image Credit: Free Beloved ECard

Image Credit:
Free Beloved ECard

And before I close, I simply have to share this good news with you… The Lord has no favorites — He loves you as much as He loves me… That means that you’re never alone, and He loves you, no matter where you go or what you do. Because He loves you, He sent His only Son, Jesus, to pay for your sins and mine, and to set us free from the law of sin and death.

And all He asks of you in return is for you to love Him with all your heat, soul, mind and strength, by confessing with your mouth, Jesus is Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead. Do you love Him? If your answer is yes, then you will obey Him — not to earn your salvation, but BECAUSE you love Him.

If you do not love the Lord, then know this — the Lord still loves you, just as He loved me when I didn’t love Him, and if you never choose to love Him in return, His love for you will not end. He will love you all the way to hell. His love won’t stop you from going to hell, because He loves you enough to give you the freedom to choose life or death, His blessings or His curses, and He loves you enough to allow you to choose heaven or hell. My prayer for you is that you would choose life, in Jesus’ name!

Hallelujah! When I read this Daily Prompt, I couldn’t resist the challenge, because now that I know who named me, and why He named me Cheryl/Beloved, I too, love my name, and I especially love my Lord, my God and my Savior, Jesus Christ!

© 2013
Cheryl A. Showers

5 responses to “Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings·

  2. Pingback: What’s in a name? | Natasha's Memory Garden·

  3. Pingback: What is in the name… | Me: A Wannabe-Superhero·

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  5. Pingback: what’s in my name | Musings of a Random Mind·

Please Share Your Heartfelt Response to This Story...

